My Night Time Skin Care Routine

dsc_0604

Up until a few months ago I had a terrible skin care routine. Most nights I would wipe off my makeup and give a quick scrub with a cleanser and that was about it. It was rare if I even used  moisturizer. I was always buying new skin care products but never sticking with anything for more than a few tries. As a girl who struggled with oily and acne prone skin through my teens and into my twenties I’ve always been weary of what products I put on my skin. Although my oiliness seems to be getting better the older I get, my pores still remain huge and I’ve got a whole new issue to deal with, texture. So I finally decided it was time to step up my skin care routine and stick to it! After a few months of sticking to this pretty much every day I’ve begun to notice a huge difference in my skin. It’s softer and smoother, my pores are shrinking and it just overall looks so much better. Below is my night time routine. I’ll have another post up next week with my morning routine.

Step 1: Neutrogena All-In-One Make-Up Removing Cleansing Lotion

neutrogena-all-in-1-make-up-removing-cleansing-lotion

I don’t use makeup removing wipes to take off my makeup. I find they are way to expensive and I usually end up using two or three each time which means they don’t last me very long. Instead, I use baby wipes and a makeup removing cleanser. I get way more bang for my buck and I find it works just as well. I’m not super picky on what baby wipes I use, I usually grab whatever is on sale. Just make sure it’s fragrance free! My theory is that if it’s gentle enough for a baby’s bum, it’s gentle enough for my face. I’ve been using this Neutrogena makeup remover for years and don’t plan on changing anytime soon. It’s relatively cheap and also doubles as a cleanser to help clean my skin before I dive in with the big guns (see step 2)

Step 2: Clean and Clear Advantage Plus 3-in-1 Cleanser + Clean and Clear Advantage 3-in-1 Foaming Acne Wash

adv-p3in1adv-ac3in1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I still struggle with some breakouts around my chin and what I’ve come to realize is that salicylic acid, which is found in MANY acne fighting products, doesn’t seem to work very well for me. What does work is benzoyl peroxide (another acne fighting ingredient). So what I do is combine the two. I use Clean and Clear Advantage Plus 3-in-1 Cleanser and Clean and Clear Advantage 3-in-1 Foaming Acne Wash to cleanse my face every morning and night. The cleanser also acts as an exfoliator. These two products together seem to be a killer combo for me and if I stick to using them every morning and night my skin stays clear.

Step 3: Clinique Clarifying Lotion #3

s1295716-main-lhero

For a toner I use Clinique Clarifying lotion #3. I have no idea why this is called a lotion, it’s a straight up toner. I dab some of this on a cotton pad and sweep it all over my face. It cleanses the skin and helps prep it for moisturizer. There are several different formulas for different skin types. The one I use is for combination oily. The down side to this product is that it smells exactly like tequila rubbing alcohol and is VERY drying, so if you use it, make sure you follow with a good moisturizer.

Step 4: Estee Lauder Idealist Pore Minimizing Skin Refinisher

s1468180-main-lhero

This is definitely the priciest thing I use on my skin, but in my humble opinion it is definitely worth it. This is a serum that refines pores and also helps smooth the skin and reduce texture. I have experimented with pore shrinking products since I was about 16 and this is by far my favourite. Now, if I’m being completely honest, I probably didn’t stick with any of the other products long enough to notice a huge difference; BUT, I saw really quick results within a couple weeks with this product. It hasn’t solved my pore problems by any means but they have gotten smaller. I apply this morning and night before moisturizing.

Step 5: Fresh Lotus Youth Preserve Face Cream with Super 7 Complex

s1488352-main-lhero

When it comes to overnight moisturizer the one thing I look for more than anything else is how it leaves my skin feeling in the morning. There’s nothing I hate more than waking up looking like a greased chicken. I want my skin to feel soft and hydrated without being oily and greasy. This product does just that for me. It is light weight, age defying, and very moisturizing.

Step 6: Eye cream

I have struggled for years trying to find I good eye cream that doesn’t irritate my eyes. I’m currently still searching for one so if anyone has any suggestions let me know in the comments below!!

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

